My name is Kai and I'm 17 years old




Black/African American


New Jersey

All who meet this sweet little boy agree, he has a great personality and becomes quite attached to those who care for him. He loves hugs and kisses and one-on-one attention. In response to attention he reaches out to hold caregiver's hands and legs. Those who care for him have become quite attached to him and have fostered his growth and progress. Kai enjoys swimming and horseback riding. When seen on horseback he is all smiles. Kai loves going for walks outside. Kai is able to walk with assistance. He enjoys laying on cold surfaces and stimulation from his vibrating toys or patting on his chest. He eats puree and chopped foods at meals and requires a lot of time and patience during mealtimes. He has a healthy appetite though and enjoys this time with his caregiver

Learn more about Kai

Favorite hobbies

Going for walks, listening to music and being read to

When I grow up

I want to be living in a home with family around me

I’m happiest when

When I am on a walk outside with people I like

What I’m looking for in a family

A family with a good support system and a willingness to learn about taking care of me

Meet Kai's Siblings

No items found.

Kai's Story

Kai's Story

Would you like to make Kai part of your family?

To adopt Kai, you need to work with an adoption agency in your state and complete your home study. If you haven’t gotten this far in your process yet, we can connect you with an agency that can help.

If this is the first time you’re considering adopting from foster care, here’s a great guide on what to expect.